Wednesday, August 17, 2011
Is it possible that my baby cries just to cry...?
Some of you mommies are going to think that this is absolutely absurd.. but hear me out.. and then you can bash me. :) I have heard over and over again from people on here that babies always cry for a reason.. and to never let them cry.. but I think my kiddo may be an exception. My daughter was born with allergies to milk and soy (not born with.. but developed soon after birth.) This is not speculation because she was intolerant of formulas and milk.. I actually had her tested by an allergist. I was and still am allergic to both as well. She also had reflux... projectile throw-up... couldn't lay flat without gagging.. etc. Obviously.. she was miserable for about 7 weeks until we got everything figured out and under control. During this time... she cried almost constantly so I became very aware of her cries. I knew when she was in pain.. I knew when she was hungry... I knew when she had a wet diaper.. etc. She had very distinguished cries. We finally got her on a formula that she could tolerate and she is taking Prevacid for her reflux. She seems soooo much better. The painful crying has stopped almost completely since making these changes. She still whines ALL OF THE TIME though. I say whine because I don't know what else to call it. It is a light cry... no tears... just noise and a red face. :) She isn't in pain.. she isn't hungry... she isn't wet.. etc... she isn't overly tired. She isn't cold, hot, or sick. She lets me know when any of these other things are the problem. I have tried swaddling, not swaddling, rocking, walking and bouncing, vibrating chair, swing, everything! Some of these things she does enjoy... just not when she is doing her whine. In other words, nothing soothes this whine of hers. I am beginning to think that since she cried constantly for the first 7 weeks of her life because of pain that she grew used to it and now she uses it to soothe or entertain herself. I know that sounds crazy but for instance.. I try to rock her to sleep and she SCREAMS. I try to put her in her swing to put herself to sleep and she SCREAMS. I lay her in her crib (which she loves to sleep in...) and she cries (her light cry) for about 3 minutes and then she is out for the night. I try to comfort her but she doesn't want it. I am running around in circles here with my explanations. Is there anything I am not thinking of...? Or is it possible that she uses crying to soothe herself (to sleep.. or when she is bored...) and she isn't really upset at all...? I don't want for her to be upset.. I am not a fan of CIO at all. I want my baby to feel comforted all of the time. She doesn't want comfort though... she wants to cry.. HELP!! I feel like I am doing something wrong. Also.. she is healthy.. sleeps well.. eats well.. and smiles very regularly at me (sometimes while crying). Sorry so long but I wanted to let you guys know what all was going on before trying to help...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment